Old lighthouse Travemünde

Oldest lighthouse in Germany

Viewpoint & maritime museum

Enjoy the unique view from the viewpoint over large ferries, Travemünde and the Bay of Lübeck.

Entry fees

Adults: 3,00 €

Child up to 14 years: 2,00 €

Opening hours

April to October 2024:

Daily 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Juli and August 2024:

Daily 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.


Alter Leuchtturm Travemünde

Am Leuchtenfeld 1, 23570 Lübeck-Travemünde

Tel. +49 4502 / 88 91 790



About the lighthouse today

The old Travemünde lighthouse is 31 meters high and now houses an eight-story maritime museum that provides insight into the history of lighthouse technology. You can see models of lightships, various sea lanterns and former lighting systems from other lighthouses. There are numerous photos on the walls with detailed information about the lighthouses that are part of the WSA Lübeck area. The stairs lead to lofty heights over 142 steps. On the top floor you can admire the still functional 1000 watt light bulbs of the lighthouse Travemünde. The surrounding viewing gallery also offers a unique view over the Skandinavienkai and the old town of Travemünde as well as over the Bay of Lübeck to Grömitz and over the coast of Federal State Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

Exact location: 53° 57' 44'' north latitude, 10° 52' 51'' east longitude


The old lighthouse Travemünde is the oldest lighthouse in Germany.

  • 1226


    First port sign

  • 1330


    The lighthouse was first mentioned in documents around 1330.

  • 1534


    In 1534 Danish troops destroyed the tower.

  • 1539

    In 1539, Dutch masons built todays lighthouse. The beacon was probably initially operated as an open wood fire, later with hempoil lamps in front of gold-plated concave mirrors. The upper part of the tower burned down in 1827 after a lightning strike. It was renovated in the classicist style and fitted with petroleum lamps.

  • 1903

    Electric arc lamps were used from 1903 and incandescent lamps from 1937.

  • 1922

    The lighthouse was registered as a technical cultural monument in 1922.

  • 1972

    In 1972 the beacon had to be switched off because the new Maritim Hotel building obscured the tower. In 1974 a new beacon was put into operation on the Maritim. Height: 114 m, visibility: 18 nm (33 km)

  • 2003/2004

    The old lighthouse was completely renovated in 2003/2004. 12,000 stones were removed and replaced to a depth of 30 centimeters from the masonry, which is up to one meter thick. In addition, the 600 square meter outdoor area was completely re-pointed and the tower was also partially re-plastered inside. The Lübeck Waterways and Shipping Authority (WSA) invested 250,000 euros for the extensive work.